Archive for December, 2021

The SIGecom Test of Time Award recognizes the author or authors of an influential paper or series of papers that has significantly impacted research or applications exemplifying the interplay of economics and computation.To be eligible, a paper or series of papers must be on a topic in the intersection of economics and computation, and must have been first published in an archival journal or conference proceedings no less than ten years and no more than twenty-five years before the year the award is conferred. The 2022 ToT award will be given for papers published no earlier than 1997 and no later than 2012.

Nominations are due by February 28th, 2022 (Anywhere on Earth) and may be made by any member of ACM SIGecom (self-nomination is not allowed). A nomination also requires two or three endorsement letters that can speak to the lasting contribution, significance, and impact of the work. A new requirement this year is that the nominator must solicit and submit the endorsement letters to the Award Committee by the deadline. Full details are here: https://sigecom.org/award-tot-details.html It is expected that at least one of the nominated authors, if selected for the award, will attend the next ACM Conference on Economics and Computation to accept the award and give a presentation on the work. EC’22 is planned for July 11–15, 2022 and tentatively be held in Boulder, Colorado; the winner will have the option of presenting virtually, even if the conference is held in person.

The Award Committee welcomes questions from anyone considering or intending to submit a nomination. The committee may be contacted by email at sigecom-awards-tot@acm.org

The 2022 Test of Time Award Committee: Yeon-Koo Che, Columbia University; Noam Nisan, The Hebrew University of Jerusalem; David Parkes (chair), Harvard University


Read Full Post »

The SIGecom Doctoral Dissertation Award recognizes an outstanding dissertation in the field of economics and computation. The award is conferred annually at the ACM Conference on Economics and Computation and includes a certificate, complimentary conference registration, and an honorarium of $1,500. A certificate may further be given to up to two runners-up. No award may be conferred if the nominations are judged not to meet the standards for the award.

To be eligible, a dissertation must be on a topic related to economics and computation and must have been defended successfully during the calendar year preceding the year of the award presentation.

The next SIGecom Doctoral Dissertation Award will be given for dissertations defended in 2021. Nominations are due by February 28th, 2022 (Anywhere on Earth), and must be submitted by email to the Award Committee with “2021 SIGecom Doctoral Dissertation Award” in the subject. A dissertation may be nominated simultaneously for both the SIGecom Doctoral Dissertation Award and the ACM Doctoral Dissertation Award.

Nominations may be made by any member of SIGecom and will typically come from the dissertation supervisor. Self-nomination is not allowed. Nominations for the award must include the following, preferably having items 1, 3, and 4 in a single PDF file:

  1. A two-page summary of the dissertation, written by the nominee, including bibliographic data and links to publicly accessible versions of published papers based primarily on the dissertation.
  2. An English-language version of the dissertation in a separate file.
  3. An endorsement letter of no more than two pages by the nominator, arguing the merit of the dissertation, potential impact, and justification of the nomination. This document should also certify the dissertation defense date.
  4. The names, email addresses, and affiliations of at least two additional endorsers.

The additional endorsement letters themselves should be sent directly by email, by the same deadline. These endorsements should be no longer than 500 words and should specify the relationship of the endorser to the nominee, contributions of the dissertation, and its potential impact on the field.

It is expected that a nominated candidate, if selected for the award, will attend the next ACM Conference on Economics and Computation on July 11–15, 2022, to accept the award and give a presentation on the dissertation work. The conference will tentatively be held in Boulder, Colorado. The award includes complimentary registration but does not cover travel or accommodation expenses to attend the conference.

See here:  https://sigecom.org/award-phd-details.html

The 2021 Doctoral Dissertation Award Committee

Yiling Chen (chair), Harvard University

Sigal Oren, Ben-Gurion University

Alex Teytelboym, University of Oxford

Read Full Post »

%d bloggers like this: