Archive for February, 2019

ACM SIGecom Elections

The following message just went out to ACM SIGecom members:

———- Forwarded message ———
From: Monique Chang <chang@hq.acm.org>
Date: Mon, Feb 4, 2019 at 2:20 PM
Subject: 2019 ACM SIGecom Election: Candidate Slate Announcement
To: <SIG-ELECTION-ANNOUNCEMENT@listserv.acm.org>

Dear ACM SIGecom Member,

The ACM SIGecom Nominating Committee has proposed the following candidates for the 2019 ACM SIGecom election.

(Running Unopposed)

Nicole Immorlica


Scott Kominers

Ariel Procaccia


Hu Fu

Katrina Ligett

In accordance with the ACM SIG Bylaws, additional candidates may be placed on the ballot by petition. All candidates must be ACM Professional Members, as well as members of the SIG. Anyone interested in petitioning must inform ACM Headquarters, Pat Ryan (ryanp@hq.acm.org), and SIGecom’s Secretary-Treasurer, Jenn Wortman Vaughan (jenn@microsoft.com), of their intent to petition by 15 March 2019. Petitions must be submitted to ACM Headquarters for verification by 2 April 2019.

Monique Chang

ACM SIG Elections Coordinator

Office of Policy and Administration

Three things for members of our community to note:

  1. It’s important vote (once the link goes out; note that the current email is just an announcement and an invitation for additional candidates to petition to be included on the ballot). The SIG leadership is very important for the ongoing direction of our organization. Your vote makes a difference, because our elections are often decided by small margins.
  1. If you didn’t get this email, you’re likely not registered as a member of our SIG. Membership costs only $5 for students and $10 for others; AFAIK, you don’t have to be an ACM member to be a SIG member. Our number of members is an important signal to the ACM about the strength of our community (which is why we have set our fees so low). Votes like this one are also restricted to members! If your membership has lapsed, or if you’ve never taken the plunge, this might be a good occasion to do so, by clicking on the link below:


  1. Thanks to our nominations chair, David Parkes, who put together the slate of candidates just listed, and also to all of the candidates who agreed to serve. Our community is really lucky to have such a strong and deep pool of volunteers, and this is one more example. Indeed, in advance, I’d particularly like to thank those candidates who *don’t* win, whoever they turn out to be: it’s thankless to stick one’s neck out for an election only to see someone else get chosen (often by a small margin; see #1), but your willingness to serve is much appreciated.

Read Full Post »

%d bloggers like this: